New structure of SSC CGL online exam

As you have learnt from various sources and official site of Staff Selection Commission that new structure or new revised scheme of SSC CGL has been finalised and the same has been published by official notification of SSC dated 01.07.2016. The first exam according to this structure which is Tier-1 of SSC CGL 2016 would be held from 27.08.2016. We’d discuss about the new scheme in this article and also provide you with the link to the new scheme in the end.

What are the major changes in new scheme of SSC CGL ?

I think there are three main changes. One in the mode of the examination, second in the paper of Tier – 1 and third is the introduction of Tier – III.

Let’s know in detail about all the changes which are going to be in effect from SSC CGL 2016.

Online SSC CGL exam from now on…

The first one is the computerisation of Tier – I and Tier – II of SSC CGL exam. Instead of manual OMR and pen/pencil based exams, these two exams will be online from now on.

The second one is the changes into the structure of Tier – I of SSC CGL exam. Read on to know about changes in the structure of SSC CGL Tier – 1 exam according to the new scheme.

Changes in the Tier – 1 of SSC CGL exam

From now on, i.e. from SSC CGL 2016, there will be 100 questions in the Tier – I exam. Before this, there were 200 questions in the Tier – 1 of SSC CGL. Also, the time duration of this paper has been reduced to 75 mins instead of the earlier 120 mins. For For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy time duration will be 100 Minutes.

Also, note that there is no change in the subjects. There are the same four subjects which were in the earlier scheme of SSC CGL. General Intelligence & Reasoning, General Awareness, Quantitative Aptitude, English Comprehension. There will be 25 Questions of every subjects carrying 50 marks. Total marks are 200 just as before so now every question will be of 2 marks.

Introduction of Tier – III of SSC CGL exam

The third change is the introduction of Descriptive Paper of English/Hindi as Tier-III. The Question Paper of this test will be bilingual and the candidates will have the option to choose any one medium from Hindi and English. Time duration for this paper will be 60 mins and for VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy it would be 80 Minutes.

Apart from these three tiers of SSC CGL exam, there will be qualifying Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) / Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) wherever applicable.

I have tried to explain you the major changes of new scheme of SSC CGL which will be effective from SSC CGL 2016. Read the official notice along with official notification to have more idea about the same.

Official Notice about new scheme of SSC CGL exam

Subscribe to us to receive all further article directly into your inbox.

Also like us on Facebook to get updates in your Facebook feeds.

Thanks for reading and best of luck to you for your next competitive exam.

2 thoughts on “New structure of SSC CGL online exam

  1. Sir, please also confirm it that interview has been removed or not after qualified of all the tiers I, II and III, IV.

Leave a Comment